I Don't Hate You, Philly

It's not youse, it's me

Happy 2013 (from 2009)! Travels of An Old Cell Phone

After nearly four and a half years of service, my trusty LG Chocolate phone is no more.

The middle of the spin dial, which is used to “OK” everything, abruptly stopped working last Saturday morning. That silver button was its heart and soul, and, just like that, the phone was rendered useless.

Now that I write/think about it, my phone wasn’t the exact definition of “trusty” — it had serious service issues, and for the last year and a half the battery needed to be charged externally. Still, it made and received calls and took photos. I suppose in my pre-smartphone naïveté it’s all I could, and did, expect.

August 2008 to January 2013, RIPConsidering having a decal made out of this for the back window of my car

August 2008 to January 2013, RIP
Considering having a decal made out of this for the back window of my car

My black LG Chocolate VX8550 made its public debut in Camden at the Maroon 5 and Counting Crows concert in late summer 2008. You didn’t flip it open, oh no. You slid it open. Sweet.

Post-flip phone, pre-smartphone ubiquity, I enjoyed my time in the sun for a good two months before my friend got a BlackBerry. Soon after, my phone plummeted to last place, the bane of cell phone existence, where it made a happy home.

Despite two batteries, unused upgrades (I know, I’m an 80-year-old man when it comes to change sometimes) and an unfortunate, um, swim, it carried on for longer than I expected. Thankfully, I can rest easy knowing my little Internet-less wonder:

+ Saw a Phillies World Series championship;

+ Traveled to four countries outside the US;

+ Lived with me in Ireland for four weeks;

+ Visited OCMD, LA, Boston, Washington D.C., Long Island, and went on countless trips to the shore, New York City and surrounding towns in PA; and

+ Experienced 10 countrywide work conferences.

Not too bad for a little gadget that became a conversation piece at parties.

With my replacement phone I’ve been told I’ve upgraded to ’09 technology (it has a keyboard!). I plan to move on to smartphone territory once I get my ducks in a row. Or until I figure out “the cloud.” That’s a phone/tech thing, right?

Find me at https://twitter.com/IDHYPhilly

One comment on “Happy 2013 (from 2009)! Travels of An Old Cell Phone

  1. Pingback: Taking a Break: Viva Las Vegas! | I Don't Hate You, Philly

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2013 by in money in the bank and tagged , , .
