I Don't Hate You, Philly

It's not youse, it's me

Pizza Brain & Little Baby’s Ice Cream: It’s Amore

Should you find yourself wandering down the 2300 block of Frankford Avenue anytime soon looking for a food fix, Pizza Brain and Little Baby’s Ice Cream has you covered. Back in September I retweeted the opening of the impending pizza shop slash museum. Self-described as the nation’s one and only largest collection of pizza memorabilia, I happily looked forward to visiting.

In early spring, a friend and I nearly walked past the unassuming shop. We ordered individual slices (the original for me, pepperoni for her) and grabbed bottles of fizzy specialty drinks. Not your usual fare of Coke and Pepsi, which adds to the oft-labeled “hipster” vibe of the place. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that.) Per Yelp they do not accept credit cards, so keep cash on hand.

Pre-order, we looked at pizza collectibles of all varieties and eras. Pizza kitsch lined the walls, appeared in clear cutouts in the floorboards, and was displayed in tattoo form on the shop iPads. Being a relatively small space, we asked the cashier if this was, in fact, the entire museum. He walked out from behind the counter and proceeded to give us some history behind the idea and other food museums, and took us out back where they hoped to expand.

As for the food, I consider myself a bit of a pizza snob, and I thought my slice was delicious. Good crust and fresh ingredients, what more can a girl ask for?

Afterward, we popped in Little Baby’s Ice Cream, which is right next door. The shop prides itself in proffering “hand-made, super-premium ice creams and non-dairy frozen desserts.” Served “Philadelphia-style,” no less, which is explained in detail here.

The workers behind the counter were friendly and indulged our whims of trying a few of the flavors. I’m not an ice cream fanatic, but it is creamy, light and ohsogood. Again, I think it was the freshness that got me.

After an afternoon of eating and treating, I reflected on both stops. My conclusion? It is L-O-V-E.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Find me at https://twitter.com/IDHYPhilly

One comment on “Pizza Brain & Little Baby’s Ice Cream: It’s Amore

  1. keg
    June 7, 2013

    Oh no, sorry to hear! They also have vegan/dairy-free choices, so all is not lost 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2013 by in food/drink and tagged , , , , , .
